Wine Time!

jacobscreek

Now I love my red wine, in particular a sneaky Malbac, the occasional Merlot, but my hands down favourite is a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon. The only thing is, I know shit all about wine, I’m not going to pretend I do. I am genuinely impressed when people speak fluently about a particular wine, while I just stand there nodding my head and saying things like, “Yeah yeah, okay. Yeah cool. Nice.” I do however know what I like, and maybe I’m being a little biased here, but I love Australian wine, and rightly so I think. Back home it’s cheap and tastes great. If I can get my hands on it I’ll thoroughly enjoy something from California, Napa in particular obviously, and possibly something from Argentina, but if abroad and I see an Australian red on a menu I’m instantly drawn towards it. Every week when I do my groceries I stand in front of the wine and scan them all for an Australian state and region I recognise. Maybe it’s the taste I’m use to, or maybe I’m feeling a little home sick, I don’t know, but they are always my go to choices.

My personal favourite back home, which I would buy a bottle of every week or so to enjoy with dinner, with friends, or maybe just a sneaky glass after work, is Jacob’s Creek Cab. Sav. Vintage (a 2009 particularly) from South Australia’s Coonawarra region. Like I said, when it comes to wine I don’t know much, but the bottle does tell me that it exhibits “typical regional characteristics of mint and blackberry aromas with ripe cassis flavours and a hint of black olive”. Hey, if that means it tastes good then okay, sure!

So if you are in Oz, or happen to come across it overseas I would suggest to give it a try. Considering as they have won various awards for it, it’s definitely worth it!

Leave a Reply

