A ‘Totally Sweet’ Vietnamese Ice Coffee

Fact: in 2008 Starbucks closed 61 out of it’s 85 stores in Australia. Why? Because we are picky, and we know good coffee. ‘But Clare, Starbucks has the best coffee!’ If you are saying this, you either live in North America or the UK. In which case, you probably also don’t know the definition of good coffee. This also means, that if you were to have a Vietnamese ice coffee your mind would be blown by it’s shear awesomeness! Obviously I’m a bit biased on the issue of food and produce quality (ie. Australia vs the rest of the world), and I like my coffee strong and unsweetened (double espresso no sugar, preferably), so when someone mentioned that I need to try one of these while in Vietnam – made with Vietnamese coffee and condensed milk – my first reaction was; ew no, that’s gross. I hate my coffee sweet, and even more I hate any form of milk or cream. However the condensed milk paired with the strong Vietnamese coffee compliments it perfectly! And Vietnamese coffee is good! Very good. And strong! Just to my liking. Have that over ice and it is the perfect pick me up, teamed with a good way to battle the South East Asian heat and humidity.

1238106_10152814882883539_1352208948_nLuckily for me, a good friend has introduced me to a Vietnamese restaurant here in London which recreates these perfectly! After not having a proper strength coffee in a while, and smashing three of these in less then an hour and a half, I was a bit jumpy and anxious for the rest of the day – worth it though!

5 responses to “A ‘Totally Sweet’ Vietnamese Ice Coffee

  1. I am from the UK and I must say, I’ve never really cared that much for Starbucks coffee, or any other coffee for that matter – but the minute I tried Vietnamese coffee for the first time, I was hooked! It is just delicious! I’m still in Vietnam at the moment, but heading back to London in December – what’s the name of the Vietnamese restaurant you go to? I’ll have to stop by to satisfy any cravings I may get! 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Best Vietnamese In London | Travel and Spice

Leave a Reply

